IPB
MORE @ COMIC RELATED: NEWS COLUMNS REVIEWS PODCASTS BLOGS

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Reply to this topicStart new topic
How I Got Here., Or, How I went from being a regular dude to getting paid to draw.
Fred Lang
post Feb 28 2012, 06:16 PM
Post #1

Advanced Member

Group: Members
Member No.: 19,590

I posted this on my DA page. I relate the following story not because I'm awesome, but because it's proof that if a retired cop can get work in the biz, you can, too. I'd like to add Bill Nichols and Ron Fortier as inductees into the "Fred Hall of Fame" for their support along the way--and continued support as I keep kicking down doors as a freelancer looking for work...!

"How I Got Here"

In January 2009, after 15 years of near-complete artist's block, I started drawing again. First just scribbles of super-heroes, monsters, whatever. And I found that, for the first time ever, that horrible internal critic that would scream inside my head "THAT SUCKS, WHAT DO YOU THINK YOU'RE DOING--YOU'LL NEVER BE ANY GOOD AT THIS. FORGET ART, GO DO SOMETHING ELSE LIKE NORMAL PEOPLE!" whenever I'd try to draw...was gone.

For some reason, my long-time internal torturer just left the building. Maybe it's because I'd changed in the 15 years I was blocked. Maybe I just got tired of the negativity, and it eventually burned itself out. No idea.

But there I was, drawing...and it was fun again. I mean, really FUN. Like "I'm 12, lying on my bedroom floor with a pad of cheap paper and pens drawing because it's awesome to have TIE Fighters shooting unicorns" fun. So I kept doing it.

I sheepishly reassembled my drafting table (which had been in storage in pieces, the metal hardware in a plastic Zip-Loc baggie taped to its underside with a strip of silver duct tape), bought a new drafting lamp, and really got into it.