Reply to this topicStart new topic
The Cyrus Barker series by Will Thomas
Glen Davis
post Aug 30 2010, 11:58 AM
Post #1

Advanced Member

Group: Members
Member No.: 2,419

I've just discovered this series. It's a great Holmesian series about a one of Holmes' rivals.

Aided by his assistant, Thomas Llewllyn, he goes around victorian era London, solving crimes in a rationized way.

The weakness of the series is that it tends toward formula. Barker and Llewllyn are hired by some oppressed minority (Jews, Irish, and Chinese, so far) and enter that world to solve the case. Llewellyn falls in love, but it ends badly. One almost wonders if there are any English people in London.

Still, a darn good series.
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
Ron Fortier
post Aug 30 2010, 01:18 PM
Post #2

Member No.: 1,427

Glen, I thought you followed my Pulp Fiction Reviews religiously. biggrin.gif I've been reviewing and applauding these since they started a few years ago.
Just got number five in the mail the other day. Can't wait to dig into it.

+Quote Post
Glen Davis
post Aug 31 2010, 12:06 PM
Post #3

Advanced Member

"Discovered" was the wrong word. I actually sought them out because I read about them in your column, it just took me a very long time to find any.

+Quote Post
Ron Fortier
post Aug 31 2010, 12:54 PM
Post #4

Member No.: 1,427

Hahahaha, I'm now very, very happy I was responsible for putting you on to this series. They are really great books. Barker & Llewellyn are terrific characters and I hope there are many more of their cases coming our way.

+Quote Post
Glen Davis
post Sep 1 2010, 04:58 PM
Post #5

Advanced Member

Now that I think about it, these books actually seem a lot like the Sherlock Holmes movie with Robert Downey, Jr.

+Quote Post
Mark Ellis
post Sep 2 2010, 06:17 AM
Post #6

Advanced Member

Member No.: 2,619

QUOTE (Glen Davis @ Sep 1 2010, 06:58 PM) *